Somerset County Orchestra Concert

Loading Events

« All Events

Somerset County Orchestra Concert

July 10 at 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm


Haydn – Symphony no 92 in G major ‘Oxford’
Mozart – Symphony no 40 in G minor
Schubert – Symphony no 4 in C minor ‘Tragic’

Free entry (donations gratefully appreciated)
Our main season will begin again with a concert on 23rd October 2021, but Somerset County Orchestra is delighted to return and perform its first concert since March 2020. This performance provides us with the opportunity to play together again in public after a long gap with a smaller orchestra than usual to comply with current regulations.
Haydn’s Symphony no 92 sums up his achievements in the previous 30 years. It was written in France in 1789 and he conducted it 2 years later in Oxford when receiving his honorary degree, hence the later ‘nickname’.
Sometimes referred to as the ‘Great G minor’, symphony no 40 is one of only two symphonies Mozart wrote in minor keys and reflects his interest in the artistic movement known as Sturm und Drang (Storm and Stress), in which darker and stronger emotions were showcased.
Inspired by and under the influence of Haydn and Mozart, Schubert’s first six symphonies were created from 1813 through 1818. Symphony no 4 was named the ‘Tragic’ by Schubert himself and is reminiscent of the same Sturn and Drang as Mozart’s earlier work.


July 10
3:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Events Category:


St James’ Church, Taunton
St James Street
Taunton, Somerset TA1 1JS United Kingdom
+ Google Map